top of page

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made! By: Quay Cane

Mini Bio: Founder of Loving-Kindness Community Center


This pandemic, glorified flu, Rona, Corona Virus… whatever you want to call it these days, has forced me to really look within. I’ve always been an introvert but being made to stay at home with the people who live with you is another thing. Lol! I’m a runner. I run from problems and issues as fast as a sprinter running the 500-meter dash. Lol! Even now, I try my best to avoid or prolong having to face reality of certain things. Until this morning, that is. My uncle, Pastor Jesse Powell, normally hold services at his church, Holy Ghost Fire Prayer Ministries, Inc., on Saturday mornings. Since the virus hit, he has resorted to using Facebook live to minister to whomever wants to tune in for a word. Every weekend I plan to tune in and every weekend something makes me miss it. This morning, I woke up right on time. I tuned in and his word was for ME. From Memphis to Nashville, he spoke, and I began to feel God tugging at my heart. The pastor said that someone is running from their ministry, the calling on their life. By then, I was in full blown tears. I realized, for a few years now, I’ve been the one stopping myself from living a fulfilled life. Staying at home for me means I have time to reflect on my purpose, I have time to reconnect with my husband and children, and I have time to build on my relationship with God. I realize that there are some things that I need to let go of and I have some people I need to forgive and move on from. I realize I have some things I need to forgive myself for. I had been running for so long, I realized that I wasn’t breathing. I was DEAD. I had become complacent with my current situation and I had become hard. I didn’t have the softness of being myself anymore. When I looked in the mirror at myself, I didn’t like what I saw. Sometimes God uses times like these to let you know that He is there and all you need to do is lean on him.




Being home forces me to see that I can’t handle everything by myself. It forces me to see that I have a problem with control. It forces me to see that I can get bossy and moody and I am stubborn. It forces me to see every flaw and no so good thing that I push off say “this is the way that I am”. I have come to see that I am an imperfect person who is striving to be the best at who God made me to be. He made me STRONG, I feel like I can accomplish much. He made me SENSITIVE, my emotions flow freely. He made me to be EMPATHETIC, I am always trying to understand others. Finally, He made me a SERVANT, I am devoted to helping others.


I didn’t mean to go so deep, but this is what was placed on my heart. I do have two

questions for people to think about:

  1. Do you know your purpose?

  2. How would you go about making sure your said purpose is fulfilled?


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Thank you Quay for sharing part of your journey with us. Great two questions. I have done lot's of self-reflection and growth in my life! It first begins as a practice and then becomes a lifestyle! It is worth it! Quay always supports @community.tm and I am so thankful for your acts of kindness. Feel free to leave a comment below!


Quay's Instagram: lovingkindnessoutreach19


Stay safe everyone & remember, self-reflection reaps amazing benefits!

Thank you!


bottom of page