top of page

greenery, nature, mother earth. By: De'Ja!

Mini Bio: De'Ja Smith ( @evrgreeen_) is an adventure-seeking nature lover who is also your favorite plant mom. After working with plants for self healing, she has developed a love for wellness through nature. She started her brand @au_ntrl with her goal in mind to help bring people back to a more natural way of living.


I'm constantly mesmerized by the effortless beauty and order of the Earth. Her beauty, her strategy, her silence that speaks VOLUMES! Nature inspires me on so many different levels. Since a young age I've always had that connect with it. I've always been the child playing in the dirt, collecting caterpillars, immersing myself in gardens, forest bathing, you name it. As the years went on and I've gotten older, I've developed an even deeper understanding that continuously enhances my life. From growing food and plants, to working with plants to heal myself inside and out. Nature has taught me the importance of the law of least effort. And for every problem you have, there is something in nature that will heal you.


Nature keeps my inner child alive. I feel like even though many of us are "adulting", we still gotta have that balance and not let life feel too serious all the time. I think we are to caught up in our modern busy lives, our 40 hour work week, running on the hampster wheel that we forget to enjoy the little things. A couple weeks ago I said "I think we all need to get back to our roots, and by roots I mean Mother Nature." I think that more in these times, we are more than disconnected with the planet and you can see the evidence all around us. While things are advancing for us and being made more convenient, we're not realizing that convenience is killing our planet. Humans cut corners and take short cuts so things aren't as genuine as they seem. I believe there is a way we can live in harmony with the planet, and I believe the first way is to remember that we ARE apart of nature. We are literally made up of some of the same elements as Earth. I think the second step is reconnecting with nature.



It's been proven that being out in nature has many benefits, but to name a FEW:

- Stress reduction

- Improves mood

- Energy boosts

- Daily dose of vitamin d

- Boosts immune system

- Gets you active

- Improves sleeps

- Helps with creativity


Here are some of my favorite ways to connect with nature:


1. GET OUTSIDE (duh).

 Even just being outside for 30 minutes can do wonders. I like to pick different nature spots to use as my "office." If you have a hotspot then you're all set. But you can also have a picnic, go birdwatching, do yoga outside, watch the sunrise/set, go foraging, paint the scenery in front of you, see if you can identify any plants, trees, wildlife around you. 

2. GROUND YOURSELF.

 You can do this anywhere. Frolic around with your shoes off and sink your feet into the ground.

3. CLIMB A TREE, HUG A TREE.

 I can never resist the urge to climb a tree, and after you're done climbing that tree, hug it. Send some love back.


 4. BRING THE OUTSIDE, INSIDE. 

 Take care of a plant or two(or in my case 26 and counting) 

 It's a good way to learn about differnt plants and gain experience.


 5. GO ON A NATURE WALK/HIKE.

 Get your body moving and your blood flowing. It doesn't have to be an intense hike (although you can if you like) just a causal walk anywhere in nature will suffice, also bring friends or your pet.


6. MEDITATE.

 Meditation is great anywhere, but when you meditate out in nature, it just hits different. Like I'm recharging my batteries.


 7. PLANT SOMETHING.

 It's very rewarding to see the abundance that comes from just a seed. 


 8. HABITS.

 Try to incorporate more eco-friendly habits into your daily routine. Some ways can be: thrifting, cutting back on how much plastic you buy and use, upcycle glass jars, composting, shop locally, bring your own cup, bag, food container, carpooling or opt for biking if able, etc.

Nature will open up your heart chakra, but I dont want you to take my word for it, I want you to actually experience it for yourself. I encourage everyone to get outside and especially in these times, be safe and practice social distancing.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Absolutely beautiful. I love Nature, I love nature, I love momma earth. Thank you so much De'Ja for writing this important blog post for us! Got me thinking of doing a LIVE meditation outside for community.tm because I remember meditating outside and the energy flows right!!! I still intend to get some of your goodies from your shop !!!! I hope this resonates with endless amount of people! Thank you for supporting community.tm De'Ja!

- Kiara Armstrong ( Founder of Community.tm)


You can find De'Ja's Instagram pages linked above in the mini bio!


Momma Earth is waiting to connect!


Stay safe everyone!

27 views
bottom of page