top of page

Earth says “less waste please!” By: Kiara Armstrong


image: via. google - earth



I would purchase organic bananas that were packaged in plastic bags and would think everything was fine. My knowledge of eco-friendly living was to a bare minimum yet not all my actions would suggest so. Before I knew about the waste-free movement I was already making zero-waste soap, zero-waste face-masks and making my own juice. I had moments where I wondered why the organic bananas were in plastic bags but the non-organic bananas weren’t but that still didn’t consciously sway my mind from purchasing the less packaged foods.


As an activist I am surrounded by more information about world issues than any other time in my life. I’ve seen people looking at all areas of their life where they over consume waste. I find living with less waste to be something that I am strongly fascinated about.


Months later it dawned on me that I was purchasing food that was more packaged than necessary. I was informed that the more I was purchasing it, the more I was approving for companies to do it. I usually lay out all my food on the table before I put them away and I realized the packaging issue.


Now, I will cook my own food or purchase it in a glass jar versus purchasing it pre-made from a can. I started making my own vegan milk more often versus purchasing all the milk in the mix boxes. I tried to reduce my waste when it came to beauty products. I purchase soap bars versus soap jugs and I get laundry detergent re-fills. I am investing in bath cloths that are biodegradable versus ones with plastic and non-biodegradable materials that stay on the earth for many years. I invested in a metal razor and vegan biodegradable dental floss. I genuinely love my own cooking but if I were to get take-out I would ask if they can put the food in my re-useable container! ( I got 99% yes’s and 1 no). I look now to what I have and I am able to cut out so much waste from my lifestyle and it is such a positive, light feeling. (Probably how momma earth feels also!) There was definitely times I really wanted something but it had just too much packaging to purchase.


What drew me to writing this post was an image of the earth. When I looked at the earth, I see just the earth. When we usually walk on earth we are quite focused on other humans and or animals. I realize that looking at earth is the only true solid attention we give to earth. Where earth is just on our mind in that moment and nothing else. Let’s remember earth and give earth the attention, such a beauty, deserves.



Thank you!! Stay safe, take care :)

Kiara Armstrong

6 views
bottom of page